Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar

Memorial Park Elementary School Earns National Recognition as a Blue Ribbon School!


Memorial Park School faculty, parents and staff are to be commended for their dedication to helping students reach high levels of achievement!  The school had a strong team of faculty members who assisted with the Bllue Ribbon application process: Dee Dee Ingle, Lisa O'Mary, Tina McKenzie, Donna Fleming, and Principal Eric Rigsby.  The Jasper City Mayor, David O'Mary, and school board members Mary Beth Rowland and Walker Wilson were also present at the announcement of this award.  Dr. Ann Jackson congratulated the entire staff for their dedication to excellence and willingness to "do whatever it takes" for students. 

Five Alabama schools are among the winners of the 2017 National Blue Ribbon for their exemplary performance on state assessments. 

The Blue Ribbon award is the highest national honor given by the U.S. Department of Education to a school.

The winners announced today by the U.S. Department of Education, are:

  • Memorial Park Elementary School, Jasper City School System
  • Leon Sheffield Magnet Elementary School, Decatur City School System
  • Liberty Park Elementary School, Vestavia Hills City School System
  • Saraland Elementary School, Saraland City School System
  • Tuscaloosa Magnet Schools-Middle, Tuscaloosa City School System

These five join more than 90 Alabama public schools awarded the Blue Ribbon since the program began in 1982.  The 2017 Blue Ribbon was awarded to 342 schools across the country based either on a school's overall academic performance or on making notable progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

Memorial Park School and Alabama's other latest winners were in the "Exemplary High Performing" category, meaning, at a minimum, the school must be in the top 15 percent of all schools on performance on statewide assessments. 

Alabama had no schools among the 30 nationwide hat were recognized for closing achievement gaps this year. 

"National Blue Ribbon Schools are active demonstrations of preparing every child for a bright future," U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos said in a video news release today.

"You are visionaries, innovators and leaders. You have much to teach us: some of you personalize student learning, others engage parents and communities in the work and life of your local schools and still others develop strong and forward-thinking leaders from among your teaching staff."

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has recognized more than 8500 schools since 1982.

DeVos and the U.S. Department of Education will celebrate with award winners at a ceremony in Washington, D.C. in November.

Schools must be nominated for the Blue Ribbon Award by their state education departments.





Back to School News      Print News Article